Are the DUSU election results a preview of 2019? The history says so

DUSU Elections General Elections

The ABVP registered splendid victory in the recently concluded DUSU elections. It is very pleasant news for all the saffron supporters considering the fact that DUSU elections are considered as pulse of the youth of the entire nation. According to India Today report, the DUSU elections and general elections have a correlation. On the past five occasions- 1997, 1998, 2003, 2008 and 2013- the party which captured the throne of the DUSU went on the win the game of thrones in the general elections held in the next year.

Let us begin with the 2013 DUSU elections result. They were similar to 2018 DUSU elections results. Just like 2018, in 2013 as well, the ABVP had emerged victorious on the post of President, Vice-President and Join Secretary. And in the general elections held in 2014, the BJP with Narendra Modi as their Prime Ministerial candidate secured a landslide victory. It reached the majority mark on its own. The party won 282 seats which were 10 seats more than the majority mark of 272. It was for the first time in the history of independent India that a party other than Congress had achieved the magic numbers on its own.

In the 2008 DUSU elections, though the ABVP bagged the post of president, the student wing of the Indian National Congress-NSUI- had rest of the three important posts. And, in the general elections held in 2009, the Congress-led UPA came back to power. It won 205 seats and formed a coalition government.

In 2003, the NSUI captured all the four posts in the DUSU elections. In the 2004 general elections, BJP’s Vajpayee government suffered an unexpected defeat against the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA). The Congress won 145 seats and formed a coalition government.

In the 1998 DUSU elections, the ABVP emerged victorious on two important posts- President and General Secretary- while the NSUI won the other two posts of Vice President and Secretary. In the next year’s Lok Sabha election, the BJP-led NDA came back to power. It won 182 seats and formed a coalition government which successfully completed its full term of five years.

Finally, the 1997 DUSU elections were the starting point from where this pattern commenced. In 1997, the ABVP conquered all the four posts and in the very next year’s general election the BJP-led NDA under the leadership of late Atal Bihari Vajpayee, came to power. It won 182 seats and formed a coalition government.

The pattern that started in 1997 is still continuing and most probably this continuation will go on in 2019 general elections as well. The mood of the nation is in favour of the saffron party and they are ready to give PM Modi another chance. Though, the opposition is trying very hard to discredit this fact but their denial is going to harm their political prospect only. The only thing that the nation wants to see is PM Modi coming back to power again. Youths are the pillar of the nation and DUSU elections have shown that pillars are supporting the saffron which is a good sign for the BJP ahead of 2019 general elections.


Previous «
Next »
Shubham Singh

21, (BA) Political Science Hons, PG Diploma in RTV, Learner.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *